Asia cup 2023 Points Table | Group, Format, Squad & History of Asia Cup 2023

Asia cup 2023 Points Table


In this article, we will discuss the Asia Cup 2023 Points Table.

Asia Cup is a famous cricket event that is done in two formats – The one-Day International format and the T20 International format. Only Asian countries play in the continental championship. Asia Cup is the only continental championship in cricket played under ACC and ICC officially.

The event was first established in 1984, a year after the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) was developed. Initially, it was planned to be played every two years. Later, it was made every four years. As of now, it rotates every 2 years between ODI and T20I formats, relying on the format of the subsequent ICC tournament.




  Asia Cup 2023 Points Table  

Asia Cup 2023 Points Table will be of two groups A and B.

Group A

PAKISTAN (Q) 2 1 0 1 3 +4.760
INDIA (Q) 2 1 0 1 3 +1.028
NEPAL 2 0 2 0 0 -3.572


Group B

SRI LANKA (Q) 2 2 0 2 +0.590
BANGLADESH (Q) 2 1 1 2 +0.373
AFGHANISTAN 2 0 2 0 -0.910


Asia Cup 2023 Points Table after Group Stage:

Super Four

Team M W L NRR P
Pakistan 1 1 0 +1.051 2
Sri Lanka 0 0 0 0 0
India 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh 1 0 1 -1.051 0


Asia Cup 2023 Points Table is updated after the completion of matches.



  Asia Cup 2023 Group Stage  

Group A

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Nepal


Group B

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka



  Asia Cup 2023 Format  

Asia Cup 2023 will have a Round-robin and knockout format where a total of 13 matches will be played involving the Final match.

Total of six teams of the Asia Cup 2023 will be split into two groups of three teams each.

A total of 6 group matches will be played where the top 2 teams of each group will move to the Super Four round.

Again, 6 games will be played in the Super Four round where each team will 3 matches against the remaining 3 teams of the Super Four round.

The top 2 teams of the Super Six points table will move to the Final match.


  Asia Cup 2023 Format  





  How Many Times India Won Asia Cup?  

Team India is the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having lifted the cup seven times.

Here is the list of years, in which India won their Asia Cup trophy.

1984 India Sri Lanka UAE ODI
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh ODI
1990–91 India Sri Lanka India ODI
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE ODI
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka ODI
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh T20
2018 India Bangladesh UAE ODI


Sri Lanka won the last 2022 T20 Asia Cup after beating Pakistan in the final of the Asia Cup. The 2022 edition of the tournament began on August 27 with a sum of six teams containing Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and Hong Kong taking part.

Talking about Asia Cup’s history, the very first edition of the game was started in 1984 in UAE with India and Sri Lanka encountering each other in the final match of the Asia Cup. The Men in Blue were crowned as the first Asia Cup winners. The second edition of the Asia Cup was played in 1986 with the runners-up from the first edition, Sri Lanka raising the Asia Cup this time after defeating Pakistan.

The 12th edition of the Asia Cup in which T20 World Cup winners Sri Lanka were known as champions was one of the most delightful editions with many tight competitions being played in the tournament, but Sri Lanka succeeded in the final match efficiently against Pakistan by five wickets.


Team Winning Year Won Runner-up
India 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018 7 times 3 times
Sri Lanka 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022 6 times 6 times
Pakistan 2000, 2012 2 times 3 times
Bangladesh 3 times
Hong Kong




  Asia Cup 2023 Squad  

Here is the 2023 Asia Cup India, Pakistan, and the expected squad list of all six teams. We will update the Asia Cup 2023 squad when this is officially announced.

India Squad

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, and Sanju Samson (back up)


Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi.

Sri Lanka Squad

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (VC), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Samara Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theeksana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesa Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.

Bangladesh Squad

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mamhud, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Mohammad Naim

Afghanistan Squad

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Abdul Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Suliman Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi.


Nepal Squad

Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Mousom Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud.



  Asia Cup Streaming Available On  

Disney+ Hotstar (Best Cricket Streaming Web)

Disney+ Hotstar is surely a good selection for watching HD cricket live streaming. Disney+Hotstar website allows users to watch live cricket matches online and it is very famous in the Indian area for its video-on-demand streaming service which is run by The Walt Disney Company.

it is the official broadcasting partner of various cricket boards in India, involving the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the Cricket Australia (CA), and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). Hotstar is obtainable in India, the UK, the USA, and Canada, and customers can subscribe to VIP or Premium plans to see live matches. Some of the cricket tournaments that you can broadcast on Hotstar include the IPL, BPL, BBL, CPL, T20s, ODIs, Asia Cup, and ICC WorldCup.


Asia cup 2023 Points Table


Star Sport

Star Sports is a TV channel that provides cricket and other sport streaming on TV.


This was for the Asia Cup 2023 Points Table.





Read Also: Star Sports Live