Ballon d’Or Winner Updated Latest List


  Ballon d’Or Winner  

The Ballon d’Or award is a yearly football award for the finest player over the previous year. It was first awarded in 1956. The most current Ballon d’Or winner was Real Madrid’s Karim Benzemais in 2022. Messi has won the men’s Ballon d’Or award a record 7 times, and Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award 5 times.

The 30 contenders for the 2022 Ballon d’Or award were declared in August. 7 times winner Lionel Messi was not on the list (for the first time since 2005), though Ronaldo did complete the cut. The ceremony revealing the winners was held on October 17 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. The winner was favourite Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema.


Ballon d'Or Winner



Benzema got the big golden ball aloft after a superb season in which he won a La Liga and Champions League double with Real Madrid and the UEFA Nations League with France.



  List of Men’s Ballon d’Or Winner  

The Ballon d’Or Winner list is as follows:

year player Nationality club
2022 Karim Benzemais France Real Madrid
2021 Lionel Messi Argentina Paris Saint-Germain F.C.
2020 not awarded
2019 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká Brazil Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukrain Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czechia Juventus
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Internazionale
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah Liberia Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool



  Ballon d’Or Awards List  

There were a total of seven awards that were handed out on Monday at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris for the 66th edition of the Ballon d’Or.

It was the first time that the Socrates Award was handed out. The Gerd Muller Trophy and Club of the Year were awarded for the first time in 2021.

  1. Men’s Ballon d’Or (Player of the Year): Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  2. Women’s Ballon d’Or (Player of the Year): Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)
  3. Kopa Trophy (Best U-21 men’s player): Gavi (Barcelona)
  4. Yashin Trophy (Best men’s GK): Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  5. Gerd Muller Trophy (Top scorer): Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
  6. Socrates Award (for player acts of solidarity): Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich)
  7. Club of the Year (a club with the most Ballon d’Or nominees): Manchester City



Read Also: How To Watch FIFA World Cup For Free



Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.