Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL  

The performance of the bowlers is very important in the game of T20 format. The history of the league shows that the teams where the bowlers perform brilliantly are the ones who succeed in getting good results in the competition. The bowler who takes the most wickets in the IPL is given a purple cap. The team, which has won the Purple Cap in 12 of the league’s 13 seasons, has made it to the last four each time.

Here is the list of players who have won the Purple Cap in the IPL season from 2008 to 2019:

  1. Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals), 2008  

Only in the early 2008 season did Pakistani players participate in the IPL, in which Pakistan’s left-arm fast bowler Sohail Tanvir won the Purple Cap. Representing the Rajasthan Royals, Tanvir was instrumental in helping the Royals, captained by Shane Warne, win the title in the opening season.

He took the most 22 wickets at a strike rate of 12.09 with an average of 6.56 runs per over. Tanvir had taken 6 wickets for 14 runs in the first match against Chennai Super Kings. This bowling spell is the second-best bowling spell in the history of IPL. His record was broken last year by Mumbai Indians fast bowler Aljari Joseph. Joseph took 6 wickets and scored only 12 runs against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL
Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL

  2. R.P. Singh (Deccan Chargers), 2009  

In the second season of the league held in South Africa, the bowler of the league winning team also won the Purple Cap. Left-arm fast bowler Rudra Pratap Singh, who represented the Deccan Chargers, put on a stellar performance to give the team its first title. Singh bowled brilliantly to make Deccan champions for the second season, having won just two of the 14 games in the first season of the league.

He took 4 wickets for 22 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders in the first game of the season. Singh, known for his deadly in-swing, had taken 23 wickets throughout the season. He defeated Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in the semifinals that season and won the title by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL
Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL

  3. Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers), 2010   

Left-arm spinner Ojha, who took 18 wickets as Deccan won the title in the second season of the league, bowled even better in the third season and won the Purple Cap for a total of 21 wickets. Ojha, who was not afraid to fly, used to lure the batsmen to make long strikes.

Ojha, who bowled at a strike rate of 16.8 that season, was instrumental in giving the team a crucial wicket, which Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist used to break the partnership.

Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL
Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL

  4. Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians), 2011  

Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga has been instrumental in helping Mumbai Indians win the IPL four times in history. Malinga is also the highest wicket-taker in league history with his unique bowling style and accurate yorker. The right-handed bowler, who has been performing well since the opening season of the IPL, won the Purple Cap in 2011 by bowling the best.

In the first match of the league, Malinga took 5 wickets for only 13 runs against Delhi which helped him to take 28 wickets in the league. He bowled at a strike rate of 13.39 and an excellent economy rate of 5.95. With the help of his excellent performance, the team reached the semifinals.

Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL
Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL

  5. Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils), 2012  

After a stellar performance in 2012, Delhi lost just five of their 16 matches in the league and advanced to the semi-finals.

In the successful season in Delhi, South African fast bowler Morne Morkel and Indian fast bowler Umesh Yadav performed brilliantly. Morkel, who won the Purple Cap by taking 25 wickets, took 4 wickets for 20 runs while registering the best bowling spell against Punjab.

Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL
Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL

  6. Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings), 2013 and 2015  

Bravo is the first bowler in league history to win the Purple Cap twice. In 2013, Bravo won the Purple Cap by taking 32 wickets in a single season and became the first bowler in the league to take more than 30 wickets in a single season. In the 2013 season alone, batsmen and bowlers from the same team won the Orange and Purple Caps. In batting, Chennai’s Michael Hussey won the Orange Cap. Bravo took 26 wickets in 2015 to win the Purple Cap again.

  7. Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings), 2014  

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team captain Chennai bowler had won the Purple Cap in the 2014 season as well. Fast bowler Mohit Sharma took 23 wickets for his personal achievement but lost to Punjab in the Chennai qualifiers. Mohit, who was India’s first-choice bowler from 2013-15, did well for CSK.

  8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad), 2016 and 2017  

Rising Pune Super Giants and Gujarat Lions replaced two of the most successful teams in IPL history, Chennai and Rajasthan, after a two-year ban in the sixth season. That same season, Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched their first IPL title with Indian fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar taking 23 wickets to win the Purple Cap. He took 4 wickets for 29 runs against Gujarat Lions that season.

Kumar, known for his sharp swing, won the Purple Cap again in 2017, becoming the second player in league history after Bravo. The same season, the same team’s batsman won the Orange Cap (David Warner) and the bowler won the Purple Cap for the second time. Kumar took 26 wickets in the 2017 season during which he spent 7.08 runs per over. Hyderabad had decided to travel to the semi-finals.

  9. Andrew Tie (Kings-11 Punjab), 2018  

In 2018, Australian fast bowler Andrew Tyle won the Purple Cap. Bowling with a mix of speed, Ty took 24 wickets. He took 4 wickets in 4 games that season, during which he took 4 wickets for 16 runs against Mumbai and registered his personal best bowling spell.

Despite Ty’s performance, Punjab was seventh in the league. In the Purple Cap race, he trailed Sunrisers Hyderabad leg-spinner Rashid Khan and fast bowler Siddharth Kaul by three wickets. Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title that season.

  10. Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings), 2019  

Veteran South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir won the Purple Cap in 2019. Representing Chennai, he was the third player in league history to win the Purple Cap after Dwayne Bravo and Mohit Sharma. Tahir, who took 26 wickets, helped Chennai reach the final.

In the first game of the season, he took 3 wickets for 9 runs against Bangalore led by Virat Kohli. Tahir was just one wicket behind South Africa’s fast bowler Kagiso Rabada in the Purple Cap race.

Read More: IPL-2021-auction-date

Read More: IPL-orange-cap-holder

IPL purple cap LIST

IPL purple cap 2020

IPL purple cap
IPL purple cap 2020
IPL orange cap list 2020
IPL purple cap winners 2020
purple cap list 2020
IPL points table
IPL 2020 orange cap prediction
most wickets in ipl 2019
3 thoughts on “10 Bowlers to win Purple Cap in IPL History l IPL Purple Cap”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.